Toggle Menu

RUTH DEUTSCH

She suffered terribly, she says and she’s still suffering today

Her maiden name is Leni Ruth Plivinski, upon marriage, she became Deutsch. She was born on September 22nd, 1924, in Neustrelitz in Mecklenburg. When she was 14, she had to leave Neustrelitz – against her will. She suffered terribly, she says and she’s still suffering today.

© Tim Hoppe

© Tim Hoppe

Not that you could tell, when she’s lying sunbathing by the pool at Hogar Adolfo Hirsch, or when she’s elegantly dressed, sitting in her generous, lovingly furnished room, busy sorting out sales of her home made jams and pot holders.
Ruth Deutsch lives in house 6, the so called Sheraton. Here live those that are still fit. Many years ago, the woman, who has stayed young at heart, came to San Miguel – she followed her husband here, but he is long since dead. Ruth Deutsch is deeply tanned, always wears make-up and has sparkling eyes. But, although she is content at Hogar Adolfo Hirsch, and is enjoying her life, Ruth Deutsch is still suffering to this day, 67 years after her flight from the Nazis.

She is still home sick for Neustrelitz, that little German town, and can’t quite explain why. “My parents could never understand. In 1938 they said to me, ‘you are now 14 years old, all your girlfriends have boyfriends but you’re not allowed. Don’t you understand: they don’t want you!’ The 80 year old can’t hide her sorrow as she remembers this time. With tears in her eyes she cries: “I nothing but suffered, I suffered! Till this day.”

Her mother was a courageous woman

On 13th April 1939 the Plivinski family is successful in their emigration to Argentina. A painful turning point in the life of the pretty, emotional and anxious young Ruth. Up until the end, she had feared that something might scupper their plans, that her dad might get arrested - because only 6 months earlier, on the 9th of November 1938, the so-called ‘Reichskristallnacht’ (or ‘night of the broken glass’), the Gestapo had arrested the stateless Jew from Poland. But her mother was a courageous woman. The following day she arranged to see the Konsul in Berlin. She said to him: “if you confirm that you’re allowing us to emigrate, then they’ll let my husband go! If you give us our visas then we’re gone by tomorrow. That’s all we want!”
In order to gather the necessary papers, mother and daughter travel to Schwerin. Ruth Deutsch keenly remembers this trip. The images rise before her inner eye: “The man who was dealing with our case was a real Nazi. He was fat and his face was beetroot red. Well, I hadn’t seen anything that ugly in my life. Hideous! Beetroot red with a fat neck! And he said to my mother, who had converted to Judaism, ‘why are you bothered about this Jew? You, as a German woman, you should be ashamed of yourself that you’re living with a Jew!’ So my mother replied, ‘What? I have been married to that Jew for 18 years – happily married!’ So he gets even redder and screams: ‘Clear off, get out of here and take this cripple with you!’ With that he was referring to me. To this day I am no cripple and I certainly wasn’t then!” That was her most terrible memory.

„Yes, and I even had to throw up from being so unconsolable.”

Ruth’s mother has never understood how her daughter can still be so fond of Germany. Unlike the little Ruth, she entered the ship with a swing in her step. “And I had to drag myself, as though I had to meet the hangman. Incomprehensible! Yes, and I even had to throw up from being so unconsolable.” The memory unsettles her. She cries again and again, has to pause in her narration. “It’s not that I wan’t to be back in Neustrelitz – not least because of the cold during winter! But we often travelled to Europe, my husband and I. Every year we visited. And when people here asked me where I was going, I used to say: ‘Home!’ She starts crying again, “Silly me!”

Ein kleines Stück...
Deutschland
%

Toggle Menu

RUTH DEUTSCH

Sie habe unsagbar gelitten und sie leidet noch heute

Ihr Name ist Leni Ruth Plivinski, verheiratete Deutsch. Geboren wurde sie in Neustrelitz in Mecklenburg am 22. September 1924. Als sie 14 Jahre alt war, musste sie Neustrelitz verlassen – gegen ihren Willen. Sie habe unsagbar gelitten, erzählt sie, und sie leidet noch heute.

© Tim Hoppe

Davon ist nichts zu merken, wenn sie sich im Hogar Adolfo Hirsch am Pool sonnt oder wenn sie elegant zurechtgemacht in ihrem großzügigen und mit Liebe eingerichteten Zimmer sitzt oder sich um den Verkauf der hauseigenen Marmeladen oder Topflappen kümmert.
Ruth Deutsch wohnt im Haus 6, dem sogenannten Sheraton. Hier wohnen die, die fit sind. Vor etlichen Jahren ist die jung gebliebene Frau nach San Miguel gekommen, ihres Mannes wegen, doch der ist längst gestorben. Ruth Deutsch ist braungebrannt, immer geschminkt und hat strahlende Augen.
Doch obwohl sie im Hogar Adolfo Hirsch zufrieden ist und ihr Leben genießt, leidet Ruth Deutsch noch heute, 67 Jahre nach der Flucht vor den Nazis.

Bis heute hängt sie an Neustrelitz, dieser kleinen deutschen Stadt und kann nicht genau erklären warum. „Meine Eltern haben das nie verstanden. Die haben 1938 zu mir gesagt, „Du bist jetzt 14 Jahre alt, alle deine Freundinnen haben einen Freund und du darfst nicht. Verstehst du nicht, sie wollen dich nicht!“ Beim Gedanken an diese Zeit kann die heute 80jährige auch jetzt ihre Trauer nicht verbergen. Mit Tränen in den Augen ruft sie, „Ich habe nichts wie gelitten, habe gelitten! Bis zum heutigen Tag.“

Ihre Mutter war eine mutige Frau

Am 13. April 1939 gelingt Familie Plivinski die Auswanderung nach Argentinien. Ein schmerzlicher Einschnitt in das Leben der hübschen, emotionalen und ängstlichen jungen Ruth. Bis zuletzt, so glaubt sie, könne etwas dazwischen kommen, drohe dem Vater die Verhaftung, denn knapp ein halbes Jahr zuvor, am 9. November 1938, der sogenannten Reichskristallnacht, hatte die Gestapo den staatenlosen Juden aus Polen festgenommen. Doch ihre Mutter war eine mutige Frau. Noch am nächsten Tag ist sie nach Berlin zum Konsul gefahren. Zu dem hat sie gesagt, „wenn Sie uns bestätigen, dass Sie uns auswandern lassen, dann lässt man meinen Mann frei! Wenn Sie uns ein Visum geben, dann sind wir morgen weg, wir wollen ja nichts weiter als das!“
Um die nötigen Papiere zu bekommen, fuhren Mutter und Tochter nach Schwerin. Ruth Deutsch erinnert sich genau an diese Reise. Die Bilder entstehen förmlich vor ihrem inneren Auge: „Der Mann, der für uns zuständig war, war so ein richtiger Nazi. Der war fett und hatte einen feuerroten Kopf. Also, so was Hässliches hatte ich in meinem Leben noch nicht gesehen. Grauenvoll! Feuerrot mit Specknacken! Und der sagte zu meiner Mutter, die ja zum Judentum übergetreten war, „was kümmert sie der Jude, Sie als deutsche Frau, sie sollten sich schämen, mit einem Juden zusammen zu leben!“ Da sagte meine Mutter, „Was? Ich bin seit 18 Jahren mit diesem Juden verheiratet – glücklich verheiratet!“ Da ist er noch röter geworden und brüllte, „Verschwinden Sie, machen Sie das Sie raus kommen und nehmen Sie diesen Krüppel mit!“ Damit meinte er mich. Ich bin heute noch kein Krüppel, damals war ich noch viel weniger ein Krüppel!“ Das war ihr schlimmstes Erlebnis.

„Ich habe sogar gekotzt, weil ich so unglücklich war.“

Ruths Mutter hat nie verstanden, dass ihre Tochter trotzdem so sehr an Deutschland hängt. Anders als die kleine Ruth, ist sie in Hamburg aufs Schiff getanzt. „Und ich hab mich geschleppt, als müsste ich zum Henker. Unverständlich! Ja, und ich habe sogar gekotzt, weil ich so unglücklich war.“ Die Erinnerung wühlt sie auf. Sie weint immer wieder, muss innehalten, wenn sie erzählt. „Nicht, dass ich heute wieder in Neustrelitz leben möchte, schon wegen der Kälte im Winter! Aber wir sind oft nach Europa gefahren, meine Mann und ich. Jedes Jahr sind wir gefahren. Und wenn man mich hier fragte, wohin ich fahre, sagte ich „Nach hause!“ Sie fängt wieder an zu weinen, „So was Blödes!“

Ein kleines Stück...
Deutschland
%