Toggle Menu

ELLEN HAMBURGER

„I’m a displaced person,“ she says without hesitation. She doesn’t have to consider for long and there’s no hint of self pity when she says, ”I don’t belong anywhere.” But maybe she belongs to Hogar Adolfo Hirsch in San Miguel, at least a little, because she’s been working here as a voluntaria for over a quarter of a century, mainly looking after the kiosko. From early on in her life it’s come natural to her to be socially engaged on behalf of her own people.

© Tim Hoppe

© Tim Hoppe

As a little girl, she collects for the ‘winter aid’ and ‘help and reconstruction’ charities set up by the Jewish Community. Back then her home is in Wiesbaden, where she was born on 7th May 1925 named Ellen Kahn.

Her childhood came to an abrupt end in 1933

Once the Nazis seize power the father of the 7 year old girl, who had been a staunch frontline fighter of WW1, was convinced that nothing would happen to him in Germany – in spite of having read “Mein Kampf”. Ellen Hamburger says that her childhood came to an abrupt end in 1933, because historical events developed differently to what her father imagined.
As a tradesman for cigars, he was unable to continue his business shortly after 1933 and Ellen herself has to leave the Lyceum after the 9th of November 1938. Her family was informed by letter. Her father doesn’t get to read this letter because on the evening of the 9th of November, he is arrested by the Gestapo and brought to Buchenwald. The now 80 year old remembers that, because he had a certificate on him which confirmed his participation in WW1, he was amongst the first, who were let go after 20 days.

“When will we get out of this hell?”

Ellen Hamburger has a vivid memory of when her father came home and said, “When will we get out of this hell?” The Kahn family takes Buchenwald as a warning and as a consequence seeks to arrange emigration. Ellen’s father is in close contact with his brother who emigrated to Buenos Aires in 1936. Ever since then, he had tried to convince his stubborn brother, to take his family and leave the country. By the time Ellen’s parents make their decision, “it’s already prohibited to send a llamada to siblings.” Neither is Ellen’s uncle able to call for her aunt in Bavaria. “The only possibility that remains”, he writes to his brother in Wiesbaden, “is for you to buy land in the Province of Misiones. Agricultural labourers can still obtain visa through the Argentine government.” But Ellen’s father isn’t an agricultural labourer.

All the same, the Uncle goes to purchase land and it takes him a second year to obtain all the licenses. In the meantime, the Kahn Family have to sell their house, in order to pay for all the fees. “It was a very pretty house. In those days people called it a villa.“ They pack all their furniture into lifts and send them to Buenos Aires by ship. Towards the end of 1938, Ellen and her parents find refuge with friends, whose house was converted into a ‘Jewish House’ after the 9th of November. It took another year and four months until they could emigrate.

“My father suffered terribly every Friday morning”

Ellen’s school friends have long since given up acknowledging her. “For them, I didn’t exist any more”, she says laconically. Apart from that she didn’t experience anti Semitism in a personal way. She has started attending a Jewish school and in the afternoons, trains as a typist, stenographer and studies Spanish in preparation for her new life.
Since he’s been to Buchenwald, the father has to report to the Gestapo every Friday. He gets asked why he hasn’t yet left Germany. But the family hasn’t got a visa. “My father suffered terribly every Friday morning.” Out of fear of what might come. Ellen Hamburger says that at that time, it was down to the discretion of the consul as to whether they were issued with visas. Because the father is too scared and doesn’t dare venture outside the house, her mother travels repeatedly to the consulate in Düsseldorf. She also travels to the Hunsrück, her husband’s old home. There, she asks for an appointment with the mayor, who is an old school friend of her husband’s. She asks him to fill in a document for her husband and his sister in Bavaria, which testifies that they worked on the land, because without such a document, the consul was not going to grant the visa. The mayor “was a decent man”, says Ellen Hamburger. He does indeed issue the necessary documents, “with lots of stamps and the swastika.” By now it is April 1940 and life in Germany has become impossible for the Kahns. Then the mother risks her life. The now 80 year old mentions this proudly. She remembers how her mother says to her father, „Do you have any money left?” She travels to the consulate and says to the consul’s secretary, who apparently is his mistress, “Listen, Miss, the longer this goes on, the more difficult it is getting for us to get out of Germany. Perhaps you could put a good word in for us.” She gives her the envelope. “It was a matter of life and death. She was very brave.“ And indeed: the Kahn family obtain their longed for stamps in their passports. The aunt in Bavaria is not so lucky. “The consul there was known not to accept bribes.” She doesn’t survive the Nazi regime. 1941 she is deported and perishes in a concentration camp.

There was great fear that they were lost

The Kahn family has to travel to Belgium, because in the midst of war, ships no longer depart from Hamburg to South America. A second uncle, who lives in France, sends money for the voyage. On 10th May 1940, the ship was due to leave Antwerp. But on the same day, the German Wehrmacht marches into France, Holland, Belgium and Luxembourg. Because the Kahn family have German passports, they are arrested by the Belgian military police and deported into a camp. When it became known that women with small children were allowed to leave the camp, Ellen’s mother seizes this favourable opportunity, “I was already age 15, but I was small.” An officer gives her the passports and wants to dismiss them, “but we couldn’t go with my dad still in the camp.” The mother points to the red “J” in their passports and says, “We made it out of the hell that is Germany, but you don’t want to let us go?” The officer, who the mother surmises is also a Jew, summons the father and now everything happens very quickly. By now it is 10 o’clock and the “Copa Cabana” is still there when they finally reach the harbour. But the ship doesn’t depart that evening. It’s now not until the following day, the 11th of May 1940, that the Kahns, along with approximately 25 fellow Jewish emigrants, who succeeded to find refuge on board the ship, leave Europe in an English Convoi. Three nights the ships are anchored. One night, a German submarine fires torpedoes. There was great fear that they were lost. But the rumour has it that the captain’s family is on board which gives everyone new hope. At last, the ship reaches the harbour of Buenos Aires.

„It was as though I had something torn out of the inside of me”

Life doesn’t allow young Ellen time to catch her breath. On the very next day, she starts attending Pestalozzi-School, because her uncle is adamant that she has to finish school as otherwise nobody would employ her. She attends school for six months and obtains her leaving certificates. The father carries on in the cigar trade and earns reasonably well, although he doesn’t speak Spanish. While Ellen settles in well and gets to like the Argentine mentality, her father never fully settles. “My father would have returned to Germany but he died in 1960.” Return to Germany? Twice she visits Germany with her husband. The first time as early as 1962. „I also went to Wiesbaden, because my mother said, I had to visit there. Her mother and her grandparents are buried there. It’s difficult to describe, but when I was there, it was as though I had something torn out of the inside of me.” In every face she recognises a Nazi. No, the idea of returning to Germany „horrorises“ her, as she says. Here, she is happy. 1950 she and her husband become legalised as Argentinians. “Which, however, didn’t mean anything“, she says drily. She is grateful to the country, „that it saved them from death“, but that’s not enough for her heart to feel Argentinian. When she says two sentences in Spanish, she says and laughs faintly, everyone asks her where she comes from. But she is no longer German, either. It is what it is. She belongs nowhere.

Ein kleines Stück...
Deutschland
%

Toggle Menu

ELLEN HAMBURGER

„Ich bin displaced person,“ sagt sie ohne Umschweife. Sie muss nicht lange überlegen und es klingt keinerlei Selbstmitleid mit, wenn sie sagt, „Ich gehöre nirgendwo hin.“ Doch vielleicht gehört sie ein bisschen nach San Miguel ins Hogar Adolfo Hirsch, denn hier arbeitet sie mehr als ein Vierteljahrhundert als voluntaria und betreut hauptsächlich den kiosko. Sich für die eigenen Leute sozial zu engagieren, das war für sie schon als Kind selbstverständlich.

© Tim Hoppe

Als kleines Mädchen sammelt sie im Auftrag der Jüdischen Gemeinde für die „Winterhilfe“ oder für „Hilfe und Aufbau“. Damals ist sie in Wiesbaden zu Hause, wo sie am 7. Mai 1925 als Ellen Kahn zur Welt kommt.

1933 war für sie die Kindheit schlagartig vorbei

Nach der Machtergreifung durch die Nazis meint der Vater der Siebenjährigen, ein überzeugter Frontkämpfer im Ersten Weltkrieg, ihm könne in Deutschland nichts passieren – obwohl er „Mein Kampf“ gelesen hat. Ellen Hamburger sagt, dass für sie 1933 die Kindheit schlagartig vorbei war, denn die Geschichte zeigt, dass es anders kommen sollte, als es sich der Vater vorstellen konnte.
Als Kaufmann für Zigarren verliert er kurz nach 1933 seine Vertretungen und Ellen selber muss nach dem 9. November 1938 das Lyzeum verlassen. Per Brief wird das der Familie mitgeteilt. Der Vater bekommt diesen Brief nicht mehr zu lesen, denn am Abend des 9. November wird er von der Gestapo abgeholt und nach Buchenwald gebracht. Weil er eine Bescheinigung über seine Beteiligung am Ersten Weltkrieg dabei hat, so die 80jährige heute, ist er einer der ersten, der nach 20 Tagen entlassen wird.

„Wann kommen wir aus dieser Hölle heraus?“

Ellen Hamburger erinnert sich sehr lebhaft daran, wie der Vater nach Hause kam und sagte, „Wann kommen wir aus dieser Hölle heraus?“ Familie Kahn versteht Buchenwald als Warnung und bemüht sich von da an um die Auswanderung. Ellens Vater steht in engem Kontakt zu seinem Bruder, der 1936 nach Buenos Aires ausgewandert ist. Der appelliert seitdem an seinen starrköpfigen Bruder in Deutschland, er solle mit seiner Familie das Land verlassen. Als Ellens Eltern sich endlich entschließen, „ist es schon verboten, eine llamada an Geschwister zu schicken.“ Auch Ellens Tante aus Bayern kann der Onkel in Argentinien nicht mehr anfordern. „Die einzige Möglichkeit“, so schreibt er an seinen Bruder in Wiesbaden, „die du noch hast ist, dass du Land kaufst in der Provinz Misiones. Für Landarbeiter gibt die argentinische Regierung noch Visa.“ Doch Ellens Vater ist kein Landarbeiter.

Der Onkel kauft dennoch Land und braucht noch ein weiteres Jahr, um alle Genehmigungen zu erhalten. In der Zwischenzeit muss Familie Kahn ihr Haus verkaufen, um alle Abgaben bezahlen zu können. „Es war ein sehr schönes Haus. Seinerzeit sagte man Villa.“ Sie packen alle Möbel in lifts und schicken sie mit dem Schiff nach Buenos Aires. Ende 1938 kommt Ellen zusammen mit ihren Eltern bei Freunden unter, deren Haus nach dem 9. November in ein sogenanntes Judenhaus umfunktioniert wurde. Ein Jahr und vier Monate sollte es von da an noch bis zu ihrer Auswanderung dauern.

„Mein Vater hat wahnsinnig gelitten jeden Freitag morgen.“

Ellen wird von ihren ehemaligen Schulkameradinnen schon längst nicht mehr gegrüßt. „Für die habe ich dann nicht mehr existiert“, sagt sie lakonisch. Ansonsten habe sie keinen Antisemitismus am eigenen Leib erlebt. Sie geht längst in eine jüdische Schule und lernt am Nachmittag außerdem Schreibmaschine schreiben, Stenografie und Spanisch für die Auswanderung. Der Vater muss sich seit seiner Zeit in Buchenwald jeden Freitag bei der Gestapo melden. Dort fragt man ihn, warum er nicht schon längst aus Deutschland raus ist. Doch die Familie hat noch kein Visum. „Mein Vater hat wahnsinnig gelitten jeden Freitag morgen.“ Aus Angst, was kommen würde. Ellen Hamburger erzählt, dass es zu dieser Zeit im Ermessen des Konsuls lag, ob ein Visum ausgestellt wird, oder nicht. Weil der Vater zu viel Angst hat und sich nicht mehr vor die Tür traut, fährt Ellens Mutter immer wieder zum zuständigen Konsulat nach Düsseldorf. Ohne Erfolg. Sie fährt auch in den Hunsrück, in die alte Heimat ihres Mannes. Dort sucht sie den Bürgermeister auf, der ein alter Schulfreund des Vaters ist. Sie bittet ihn, eine Bescheinigung für ihren Mann und dessen Schwester aus Bayern auszustellen, die besagt, dass sie auf dem Land gearbeitet hätten, denn ohne ein solches Papier würde der Konsul die Visa nicht genehmigen. Der Bürgermeister „war ein anständiger Mann“, so Ellen Hamburger. Er stellt tatsächlich die nötigen Bescheinigungen aus, „mit vielen Stempeln drauf und dem Hakenkreuz“. Mittlerweile ist schon April 1940 und die Kahns halten es in Deutschland kaum noch aus. Dann riskiert die Mutter ihr Leben. Das erzählt die heute 80jährige Tochter nicht ohne Stolz. Sie erinnert sich, wie die Mutter zum Vater sagt, „Hast du noch irgend ein Geld?“ Sie fährt zum Konsulat und sagt zur Sekretärin des Konsuls, die scheinbar auch intim mit ihm ist, „Hören Sie zu, Fräulein, je länger die Sache dauert, desto schwieriger wird es für uns, aus Deutschland raus zu kommen und vielleicht können Sie bei dem Herrn Konsul ein gutes Wort für uns einlegen.“ Sie gibt ihr das Kuvert. „Es ging um Leben und Tod. Sie hat es gewagt.“ Und tatsächlich: Familie Kahn bekommt die ersehnten Stempel in ihre Pässe.
Die Tante hat in Bayern kein Glück. „Der Konsul dort war bekannt dafür, dass er kein Schmiergeld annimmt.“ Sie überlebt die Nazidiktatur nicht. 1941 wird sie deportiert und stirbt in einem Konzentrationslager.

Die Angst ist groß, dass es keine Rettung mehr geben wird

Familie Kahn muss nach Belgien reisen, denn mitten im Krieg fahren aus Hamburg keine Schiffe mehr nach Südamerika. Ein zweiter Onkel, der in Frankreich lebt, schickt das Geld für die Passagen. Am 10. Mai 1940 soll das Schiff in Antwerpen auslaufen. Doch am selben Tag fällt die Wehrmacht in Frankreich, Holland, Belgien und Luxemburg ein. Weil Familie Kahn deutsche Pässe hat, werden sie von der belgischen Militärpolizei festgenommen und in ein Lager gebracht. Als es heißt, dass Frauen mit kleinen Kindern das Lager verlassen können, nutzt die Mutter mit Ellen die Gunst der Stunde, „Ich war zwar schon 15, aber ich war klein.“ Ein Offizier gibt ihr die Pässe und will sie entlassen, „aber wir konnten ja nicht gehen, denn mein Vater war noch in der Kaserne.“ Die Mutter weist auf das rote „J“ in den Pässen hin und sagt, „Nun sind wir aus der Hölle von Deutschland raus gekommen, und Sie wollen uns nicht gehen lassen?“ Der Offizier, selbst ein Jude, so vermutet die Mutter, lässt den Vater holen und nun muss alles ganz schnell gehen. Mittlerweile ist es zehn Uhr und die „Copa Cabana“ ist noch da, als sie endlich im Hafen ankommen. Doch in dieser Nacht fährt das Schiff nicht mehr aus. Erst am nächsten Tag, am 11. Mai 1940, verlassen die Kahns, zusammen mit den etwa 25 anderen jüdischen Auswanderern, die es noch geschafft haben, in einem englischen Konvoi Europa. Drei Nächte liegen die Schiffe vor Anker. Eines Nachts lässt ein deutsches U-Boot Torpedos los. Die Angst ist groß, dass es keine Rettung mehr geben wird. Doch als das Gerücht umgeht, dass der Kapitän seine Familie mit an Bord hat, steigt die Hoffnung wieder. Zu guter Letzt erreicht das Schiff den Hafen von Buenos Aires.

“Wie, als wenn man mir aus dem Inneren etwas raus gerissen hätte.“

Das Leben gönnt der jugendlichen Ellen keine Verschnaufpause. Schon am nächsten Tag geht sie in die Pestalozzi-Schule, denn ihr Onkel meint, sie müsse unbedingt einen Abschluss machen, ansonsten nähme sie niemand. Ein halbes Jahr noch geht sie zur Schule und macht ihren Abschluss. Der Vater geht wieder in die Zigarrenbranche und verdient ganz gut, obwohl er kein Spanisch spricht. Während sich Ellen schnell einlebt und die Mentalität der Argentinier sehr mag, fasst der Vater nie richtig Fuß. “Mein Vater wäre wieder nach Deutschland zurück gegangen, aber er ist 1960 gestorben.“ Nach Deutschland zurückgehen? Zweimal fährt sie mit ihrem Mann nach Deutschland. Das erste Mal schon 1962. „Ich war auch in Wiesbaden, weil meine Mutter gesagt hat, ich müsse da unbedingt hin. Da liegt ihre Mutter begraben und die Großeltern. Als ich dort war, war das so, ich kann das schwer beschreiben, wie, als wenn man mir aus dem Inneren etwas raus gerissen hätte.“ In jedem Gesicht sieht sie einen Nazi. Nein, die Vorstellung, nach Deutschland zurückzukehren „horrorisiert“ sie, wie sie sagt. Hier fühlt sie sich wohl. 1950 werden sie und ihr Mann per Gesetz Argentinier. „Was aber nichts heißt“, sagt sie trocken. Sie ist dem Land dankbar, „dass sie uns vor dem Tod gerettet haben“, aber deshalb ist sie vom Herzen noch lange keine Argentinierin. Wenn sie zwei Sätze Spanisch spreche, sagt sie und lacht ein wenig, frage sie jeder, woher sie komme. Aber Deutsche ist sie auch nicht mehr. Das sei eben so. Sie gehöre nirgendwo hin.

Ein kleines Stück...
Deutschland
%