Toggle Menu

EDITH BRAUN

Edith Braun only has few memories of the time before she emigrated. “Unfortunately and thank God”, she says today. Unfortunately, because she would now probably have a better understanding of events and thank God, because she doesn’t really want to remember. She says, it’s as though her memories swam away. She is certain that there are psychological reasons. Only individual, sad memories remain. For example, that one day, her best friend was no longer allowed to play with her. Or that she and her brother Hans, who is two years older than her, were ‘harassed’, as she calls it, in school and on the playing fields. What does she mean by this? She can’t and doesn’t want to go into details. But it must have been harrowing and persistent because her parents decide to emigrate – not least because of it.

© Tim Hoppe

© Tim Hoppe

“Please, please get us out of here!“

Edith Rosa Ruth Marx is born on 18th February 1926 in Landau in the Palatinate. When the Nazis come to power, she is still too little to understand everything. The family want to leave Germany. That, she does understand. An Uncle, who has lived in Argentina since 1926, sends a llamada. He also calls for the Grandparents, but they don’t want to leave Germany. “Who will harm us?”, they said, remembers the 79 year old granddaughter. When later the grandparents write imploring letters, “Please, please get us out of here!“, young Edith must have understood the severity of the situation. Until then, the emigration and in particular the voyage with the ship ‘Lamadrid’, on which they leave Hamburg harbour in 1935, was an aventura, an adventure, for her and her brother. Today, she realises that it was a difficult farewell for her parents.

For the then 15 year old, this is a difficult move

The new beginning isn’t easy for the Marx family. At first, they live with the uncle. He earns well and supports them. But they don’t want to remain dependent on him. So the father gets a job. He explores trading with coal, timber and wine. When his business partner cheats him, he has to start again from scratch. The family moves to the south of the country. For Edith and her brother Hans, this means they have to go to Buenos Aires without their parents, because it’s only there that they can study and work. For the then 15 year old, this is a difficult move. Although she is with her brother, she now has to cope without her beloved parents. She says that up till then she had been a very wild and exuberant child. Now she’s becoming increasingly withdrawn.

“It was very hard times, but we were living in freedom.”

Edith goes to work in a children’s home run by the Jewish philanthropic society; initially as an assistant but later as a nursery worker. “Fifteen years then isn’t what it is today”, she says with a very serious expression. For her parents, too, it was hard to let go of their children. “It was very hard times, but we were living in freedom.” That that was more important than anything else is clearer to her now than ever.
She wasn’t able to fetch her grandparents. Instead they get deported into a French camp. Only her grandmother survives. After the war, she goes to live with one of her daughters in Palestine.

Life goes on

Life goes on and Edith becomes settled. She misses her parents, but she is glad that she has work. For six years, she remains loyal to the Philanthropic sociaty in her role as nursery worker. Today, more than half a century later, she’s no longer looking after little ones. Instead, she spends one day a week as voluntaria “in the best retirement home in all of Buenos Aires”. She enjoys her work. And here she mainly speaks German. Her girlfriends are German Jews, she married a German Jew, but that doesn’t make her German. “I have been back to Germany, and I was thrilled, but still. My life is here.” Today she feels Argentinian. In spite of this, her relationship to Germany is very good, she says. She visits her home town three times and meets nice people there. She even meets up with her old class mates, but “I couldn’t remember anyone. I only recognised my former best friend. It was very exciting and emotional”, she says as she remembers the encounter.

For a long time she blocked out the past. Today, she is pleased about the contact to Landau, her birthplace, and perhaps her memories will return. Bit by bit.

Ein kleines Stück...
Deutschland
%

Toggle Menu

EDITH BRAUN

Edith Braun hat nur wenig Erinnerungen an die Zeit vor ihrer Auswanderung. „Leider und Gottseidank“, sagt sie heute. Leider, weil sie die ganze Geschichte wahrscheinlich besser verstehen könnte und Gottseidank, weil sie sich eigentlich gar nicht erinnern möchte. Sie sagt, es ist, als seien die Erinnerungen weggeschwommen. Sie ist sich sicher, dass das psychische Ursachen hat. Nur vereinzelte, traurige Erinnerungen sind ihr geblieben. So zum Beispiel, dass ihre beste Freundin eines Tages nicht mehr mit ihr spielen durfte. Oder, dass sie und ihr zwei Jahre älterer Bruder Hans in der Schule und auf dem Sportplatz sehr „belästigt“ wurden, wie sie es nennt. Was sich hinter diesem Wort verbirgt? Sie kann und will nicht ins Detail gehen. Es muss aber schlimm und andauernd gewesen sein, denn die Eltern beschließen vor allem deswegen auszuwandern.

© Tim Hoppe

„Bitte, bitte, holt uns raus!“

Edith Rosa Ruth Marx kommt am 18. Februar 1926 in Landau in der Pfalz zur Welt. Als die Nazis an die Macht kommen, ist sie noch zu klein, um alles zu verstehen. Die Familie will raus aus Deutschland. Das bekommt sie mit. Ein Onkel, der schon seit 1926 in Argentinien lebt, schickt eine llamada. Auch die Großeltern fordert er an, doch sie wollen Deutschland nicht verlassen. „Wer wird uns was tun?“, haben sie damals gefragt, erinnert sich die 79jährige Enkelin. Als die Großeltern später flehende Briefe schicken, „Bitte, bitte, holt uns raus!“, da muss der kleinen Edith der Ernst der Situation klar gewesen sein. Bis dahin war die Auswanderung und vor allem die Schiffsreise mit dem Schiff „Lamadrid“, mit dem sie im Dezember 1935 den Hamburger Hafen verlassen, für sie und ihren Bruder eine aventura, ein Abenteuer, wie sie sagt. Heute weiß sie, dass es für ihre Eltern ein schwerer Abschied war.

Für die damals 15jährige ist das ein harter Schritt

Auch der Start ins neue Leben ist für Familie Marx nicht leicht. Sie wohnen zunächst beim Onkel. Der verdient gut und unterstützt sie. Doch wollen sie nicht auf Dauer abhängig bleiben. Also fängt der Vater an zu arbeiten. Er versucht sich im Handel mit Kohle, Holz und Wein. Als er von seinem Partner betrogen wird, muss er ganz von vorne anfangen. Die Familie zieht in den Süden des Landes. Für Edith und ihren Bruder Hans heißt das, sie müssen ohne die Eltern nach Buenos Aires gehen, denn nur dort können sie was lernen und arbeiten. Für die damals 15jährige ist das ein harter Schritt. Sie geht zwar zusammen mit ihrem Bruder, aber von nun an ist sie ohne ihre geliebten Eltern. Sie erzählt, dass sie bis dahin immer ein sehr wildes und ausgelassenes Kind gewesen sei. Nun verschließt sie sich immer mehr.

„Es war sehr hart, aber wir waren in Freiheit.“

Edith arbeitet im Kinderheim des Jüdischen Hilfsvereins, erst als Gehilfin und später als Kindergärtnerin. „Fünfzehn Jahre damals ist nicht fünfzehn Jahre heute“, sagt sie mit einem sehr ernsten Gesichtsausdruck. Auch für die Eltern sei es schwer gewesen, die Kinder gehen zu lassen. „Es war sehr hart, aber wir waren in Freiheit.“ Dass das wichtiger war als alles andere, ist ihr heute klarer denn je.

Ihre Großeltern haben sie nicht mehr nachholen können. Stattdessen werden sie in ein französisches Lager deportiert. Nur die Großmutter überlebt. Nach dem Krieg geht sie zu einer ihrer Töchter nach Palästina.

Das Leben geht weiter

Das Leben geht weiter, und auch Edith richtet sich ein. Ihre Eltern fehlen ihr, aber sie ist auch froh, dass sie Arbeit hat. Sechs Jahre bleibt sie als Kindergärtnerin dem Hilfsverein treu. Heute, mehr als ein halbes Jahrhundert später, kümmert sie sich nicht mehr um die Kleinen. Sattdessen verbringt sie als voluntaria jede Woche einen Tag „im besten Altenheim von ganz Buenos Aires“, wie sie sagt. Sie hat viel Freude an ihrer Arbeit. Und hier spricht sie vor allem Deutsch. Ihre Freundinnen sind deutsche Juden, sie heiratete einen deutschen Juden, doch Deutsche ist sie deshalb nicht. „Ich war zwar auch wieder in Deutschland, und ich war begeistert, aber trotzdem. Hier ist mein Leben.“ Sie fühlt sich heute als Argentinierin. Ihr Verhältnis zu Deutschland ist trotzdem sehr gut, sagt sie. Ihre alte Heimatstadt besucht sie drei Mal und lernt sehr nette Menschen kennen, wie sie sagt. Sie trifft sich sogar mit ihren alten Klassenkameradinnen, doch „Ich habe mich an niemanden erinnert. Nur meine damalige beste Freundin habe ich wieder erkannt. Es war sehr aufregend und sehr emotionell“, erinnert sie sich an diese Begegnung.

Lange hat sie verdrängt. Heute freut sie sich über den Kontakt zu Landau, ihrer alten Heimat und vielleicht kommen die Erinnerungen ja wieder. Nach und nach.

Ein kleines Stück...
Deutschland
%