Toggle Menu

DORIS KAUFMANN

The daughters had had no idea that her father was a Jew

„What’s a Jewess?“ asks Doris’ sister one day in 1936, when she comes home from school. People threw this insult at her on the street. The daughters had had no idea that her father was a Jew.

© Tim Hoppe

© Tim Hoppe

Doris was born 7th October 1927 as daughter of the Hammerschmidt couple in Glatz, in Silesia and was baptised, just like her sister, who is two years older. Jewish relatives live in Pomerania. Her father’s origins had never mattered before. But shortly before the incident, her father loses his job as distiller in a factory producing liqueurs, because he is a Jew. From then on, Doris mother launches herself into preparations for their emigration, driven by the worry about her husband and her children. She couldn’t bear the idea that something was to happen to them, her daughter remembers 70 years later.

“That really was a big deal”

Her parents want to emigrate either to the US or to Argentina. But they don’t succeed in obtaining an affidavit for North America, although her father’s brother lives there. The family can’t afford the immigration visa for Argentina. But then her father remembers an old friend who emigrated to Paraguay and he writes to him. And indeed he sends an official request for their immigration, even though that means he has to vouch for the German immigrant family. “That really was a big deal”, remembers the 78 year old. She believes that it must have been awful for her parents to have to leave Germany. She herself wasn’t “that affected”, she says.

„Everything was dreadfully primitive.”

She remembers the voyage with the ship from Hamburg in the year 1938, which was lovely, because, she says,”we travelled first class”. By 1938, Jewish emigrants are no longer allowed to export any money, therefore her father decides to invest his money in a luxury voyage. The remainder he invests in agricultural machinery, because “my father was convinced that he could turn to farming once settled in Paraguay. He felt passionate about it.” Arriving in Paraguay was a sobering experience for him. On his rice plantation on the Río Paraná her father’s friend had built a small house for the Hammerschmidt family, “but everything was dreadfully primitive.” The windows had no glass and there was no running water. In any case, none of them had any Spanish. The parents trade all they have for more useful possessions: “they swapped a winter coat for a cow, or so many hens for whatever else my parents had.”

Argentina, the original destination of their choice, was so close: they could look over towards Posadas which is part of Argentina. “During the night, we can see lights of the city.” The Hammerschmidt family have no electricity.

Without relatives. “That was very hard.”

After a short while, the father realises that he’s better off giving up on his idea of farming and begins once again to work in his former profession. He starts to produce liqueurs and because there are many German colonies in Paraguay, he soon has a steady stock of customers. In the early days he travels between the different colonies on horseback, six to eight bottles chocolate liqueur on either side, as well as biscuits, home baked by Doris’ mother. The two girls help a little, but they also attend school. Three years later, when the Hammerschmidt’s have settled down a little, the father suffered a fatal accident involving the horse cart. He is 45 years old. From now on, the mother is alone with her two teenage daughters. Without relatives. “That was very hard”, Doris Kaufmann remembers, and recounts how awful it was not to have any relatives in a foreign country because they hadn’t been able to arrange for any of her father’s family to follow them. She remembers how, before their emigration, her father had tried to persuade his family to come with them. Without success. A few had been able to get away to Israel or England and “all others perished.”

Germany seemed a long way away

The mother continues the liqueur trade with the help of her daughters. But soon after, Doris’ sister marries Günther, whom she had met on the ship en route to South America back in 1938. When her sister visits a friend in Buenos Aires, she bumps into him again “and that’s all it took”. She marries and moves to Buenos Aires. Doris Kaufmann laughs; to this day she is pleased about this, although it means that from then on she and her mother live on their own in Paraguay. Ten years after her father’s death, her mother passes away, too and Doris follows her sister to Argentina. That wasn’t easy for her, she says. Although she had no recognised training, the brother of her brother-in-law arranges for the 23 year old to be offered a job as a secretary at “Bunge und Born”. Later on she switches to a Swiss Insurance company and works as a secretary for the director. Here she has a difficult time,”because her German was no longer very good.” She had long since become Paraguayan. Germany seemed a long way away. Although her mother had always kept contact with the family, who after the war settled in Saxony and had sent them parcels once the war was over. But her daughter no longer maintains that connection. All the same, she visits the family. She has mixed feelings and feels a stranger in Germany.

No matter where she was and with whom, “I never knew where I belonged.”

Before she emigrated to South America, Doris Kaufmann had never felt Jewish. However, as an Emigrant, being Jewish becomes considerably more important. When she marries in 1956, she converts to Judaism. It was the parents-in-law’s wish. Hence, her children are Jewish, ”but they make no use of it, so I needn’t have bothered.” For the last 12 years she has been a voluntaria in Hogar Adolfo Hirsch and cares for fellow German Jews. She feels closely connected to the AFI, not least because her husband’s grandmother and her sister’s mother-in-law died here. But she never felt fully integrated in German Jewish Buenos Aires society. “I always had the feeling that I’m not Jewish at all.” She always suffered from that feeling. No matter where she was and with whom, “I never knew where I belonged” and that’s not now likely to change.

Ein kleines Stück...
Deutschland
%

Toggle Menu

DORIS KAUFMANN

Dass der Vater Jude ist, haben die Töchter nicht gewusst

„Was ist eine Jüdin?“ fragt Doris Schwester eines Tages im Jahre 1936, als sie von der Schule nach Hause kommt. Auf der Straße war sie als solche beschimpft worden. Dass der Vater Jude ist, haben die Töchter nicht gewusst.

© Tim Hoppe

Doris kommt am 7. Oktober 1927 als Tochter des Ehepaares Hammerschmidt in Glatz in Schlesien zur Welt und wird, wie ihre zwei Jahre ältere Schwester, getauft. Die jüdische Verwandtschaft lebt in Pommern. Die Herkunft des Vaters hat bisher keine Rolle gespielt. Doch kurz nach dem Vorfall verliert der Vater seine Arbeit als Destillateur in einer Likörfabrik, weil er Jude ist. Von da an treibt Doris Mutter aus Sorge um ihren Mann und ihre Kinder die Auswanderung voran. Die Vorstellung, dass ihnen etwas passieren könnte, habe sie nicht ertragen können, erzählt die Tochter 70 Jahre später.

„Das war wirklich eine große Sache.“

In die USA oder nach Argentinien wollen die Eltern auswandern. Doch für Nordamerika bekommen sie kein affidavit, obwohl der Bruder des Vaters dort lebt. Die Einreisevisa nach Argentinien kann sich die Familie nicht leisten. Dann erinnert sich der Vater an einen Jugendfreund, der nach Paraguay ausgewandert war und schreibt ihm. Und tatsächlich fordert er sie an, obwohl er versichern muss, dass er für die Einwanderer aus Deutschland aufkommen wird. „Das war wirklich eine große Sache“, erinnert sich die 78jährige. Sie glaube aber schon, dass es für ihre Eltern schlimm war, Deutschland verlassen zu müssen. Sie selber hat das, wie sie sagt, „nicht so beeindruckt“.

„Es war alles schrecklich primitiv.“

Sie erinnert sich an die Überfahrt mit dem Schiff von Hamburg aus im Jahre 1938, die sehr schön war, wie sie erzählt, „denn wir sind Erster Klasse gefahren“. Geld dürfen die jüdischen Auswanderer 1938 schon nicht mehr mitnehmen, also beschließt der Vater, sein Geld in eine Luxusreise zu investieren. Den Rest des Geldes investiert er in Landwirtschaftliche Maschinen, denn „mein Vater hat sich eingeredet, er kann in Paraguay Landwirtschaft betreiben. Davon war er sehr begeistert.“ In Paraguay wird er schnell ernüchtert. Der Freund des Vaters hatte auf seiner Reisplantage am Río Paraná zwar ein kleines Haus für die Hammerschmidts gebaut, „aber es war alles schrecklich primitiv.“ Die Fenster haben kein Glas und es gibt kein fließend Wasser. Außerdem spricht keiner von ihnen Spanisch. Die Eltern tauschen alles mögliche ein, um an sinnvollen Besitz zu kommen: „einen Wintermantel gegen eine Kuh, oder soundso viele Hühner für was meine Eltern noch so hatten.“

Argentinien, das eigentliche Ziel, ist so nah, denn sie können nach Posadas in Argentinien gucken. „Auch in der Nacht konnten wir die Lichter sehen.“ Familie Hammerschmidt hat kein elektrisches Licht.

Ohne Verwandtschaft. „Das war sehr hart.“

Nach kurzer Zeit muss der Vater einsehen, dass es besser ist, die Landwirtschaft aufzugeben, um wieder in seinem alten Beruf zu arbeiten. Er beginnt, Liköre zu produzieren, und da es in Paraguay viele deutsche Kolonien gibt, hat er schnell sichere Kundschaft. In der ersten Zeit reitet er auf dem Pferd von Kolonie zu Kolonie, auf jeder Seite sechs oder acht Flaschen Schokoladenlikör und die selbstgebackenen Plätzchen der Mutter. Die beiden Mädchen helfen ein bisschen, aber sie gehen auch zur Schule. Drei Jahre später, als sich die Hammerschmidts ein wenig eingelebt haben, verunglückt der Vater mit dem Pferdewagen. Er ist 45 Jahre alt. Von nun an steht die Mutter mit ihren zwei halbwüchsigen Kindern alleine da. Ohne Verwandtschaft. „Das war sehr hart“, erinnert sich Doris Kaufmann und erzählt, wie schlimm es war, keine Verwandten in der Fremde zu haben, denn die Familie des Vaters hatten sie nicht mehr nachholen können. Sie erinnert sich, wie der Vater noch vor der Auswanderung seine Familie dazu bringen wollte mitzukommen. Ohne Erfolg. Wenige haben sich später noch nach Israel oder England retten können und „alle anderen sind umgekommen.“

Deutschland ist weit weg

Die Mutter führt das Likörgeschäft mithilfe der Töchter weiter. Doch bald heiratet Doris Schwester „den Günther“, wie Doris erzählt. Den hatte sie auf dem Schiff nach Südamerika im Jahre 1938 kennengelernt. Als die Schwester eine Freundin in Buenos Aires besucht, trifft sie ihn wieder „und da war‘s geschehen“. Sie heiratet und zieht nach Buenos Aires. Doris Kaufmann lacht, noch heute freut sie sich darüber, obwohl sie von da an mit ihrer Mutter allein in Paraguay lebt. Zehn Jahre nach dem Tod des Vaters stirbt auch die Mutter, und Doris folgt ihrer Schwester nach Argentinien. Das sei nicht leicht für sie gewesen, sagt sie. Obwohl sie keine Ausbildung hat, bekommt die 23jährige über den Bruder ihres Schwagers eine Stelle als Sekretärin bei „Bunge und Born“. Später geht sie zu einer Schweizer Versicherungsgesellschaft und arbeitet als Sekretärin für den Chef. Auch hier hat sie eine schwere Zeit, „denn mein Deutsch war nicht mehr so gut.“ Sie war längst Paraguayerin geworden. Deutschland ist weit weg. Zwar hatte die Mutter den Kontakt zu ihrer Familie, die nach dem Krieg in Sachsen lebt, immer gehalten, hatte sogar Pakete geschickt, als der Krieg vorbei war. Aber für die Tochter gibt es keinen rechten Bezug mehr. Dennoch besucht sie die Familie. Sie fährt mit gemischten Gefühlen und fühlt sich fremd in Deutschland.

Egal, wo sie war und mit wem, „ich habe nie gewusst, wo ich hingehöre.“

Bevor sie nach Südamerika auswanderte, hatte sich Doris Kaufmann nie jüdisch gefühlt. In der Emigration spielt für sie das Jüdische dann doch eine vergleichsweise große Rolle. Als sie 1956 heiratet, tritt sie zum Judentum über. Die Schwiegereltern wollen es so. Ihre Kinder sind folglich Juden, „aber sie machen keinen Gebrauch davon. Ich hätte es mir also sparen können.“ Seit 12 Jahren ist sie voluntaria im Hogar Adolfo Hirsch und kümmert sich um andere deutsche Juden. Sie ist der AFI sehr verbunden, auch weil die Großmutter ihres Mannes und die Schwiegermutter ihrer Schwester hier gestorben sind. In der Gesellschaft der deutschen Juden in Buenos Aires hat sie sich aber nie richtig integriert gefühlt. „Ich hatte immer das Gefühl, ich muss sagen, dass ich gar nicht jüdisch bin.“ Darunter habe sie immer sehr gelitten. Egal, wo sie war und mit wem, „ich habe nie gewusst, wo ich hingehöre“ und das wird sich wohl auch nicht mehr ändern.

Ein kleines Stück...
Deutschland
%