Toggle Menu

ANNELIESE FELDMANN

Memories of Germany don’t come easy to her

She’s finding it hard to recollect details when digging around in her memories. Memories of Germany don’t come easy to her. Anneliese Feldmann lives in the present. Even if the present is not nearly as exciting as things of the past.

© Tim Hoppe

© Tim Hoppe

Now aged 89, Anneliese Feldmann sits with her friend Hilde Neustadt in the common room of Hogar Adolfo Hirsch and listens to classical music, which plays from a small Hifi set. This is how the two of them often pass the time till lunch.

“Germany? Forgotten.“

Memories of Germany? “I’ve retained the German language and culture”, but to remember? She doesn’t want to. “Germany? Forgotten.“, she says with a smile and in spite of this, remembers a good bit.
For example that she was born in Berlin on 21st August 1916, and that her family decided early on to pay for her father to emigrate to Argentina “after life became unpleasant in Germany,” and that he then travelled on his own ahead of the rest of the family. That she and her two siblings were able to follow him a year later. “My mum wasn’t around any more at that point.” So she left Germany legitimately in 1936. Were there difficulties? She can’t remember and doesn’t want to know. However, she does remember that they had a great time on the voyage. They took with them as much as they could. “In terms of money, however, I only had 10 Marks. That’s all we had to make a new beginning.”

She spends her time exclusively in the company of other German speaking Jews

In Argentina, she immediately felt happy and secure, she says. She and the whole family lived in a large apartment. Anneliese, her sister, her brother-in- law, the father and her husband. Whether she had any children at that point? She can’t remember that, either. It’s so long ago. 70 years, to be precise. Where her memory is hazy on some things, she’s all the more clear on how she met her husband. In the Jewish community. She spends a lot of time in the meeting house, makes friendships. She spends her time exclusively in the company of other German speaking Jews. They attend talks, go to the cinema and chat. „That’s how we spent our days.“ And they only speak German with one another.
She did eventually learn Spanish: at first with the help of the book „1000 Words Spanish” and then while at work. “Of course I had a job, well, so obviously one had to speak Spanish.” Anneliese Feldmann works as a secretary. She is 19 years old. In Argentina, you’re considered to be an adult when you’re 19, she says; but I was raised in such a way that I wasn’t quite there yet. Bueno, because one wasn’t so vivo, not so sharp, everything was a little slower – but not badly.“ It must have gone well, because Annelise Feldmann is a very contented elderly lady.

„The natives were very nice. Very, very nice.”

One reason for being contented with her life is that she has always felt welcome in Argentinia. „The natives were very nice. Very, very nice.” Of course not everything has been easy, she says, „though as long as you can laugh, it was good.“ Today Argentina is her home. What about Germany? She has never been back. „I have no connection to Germany. We emigrated because they didn’t want us Jews.“ ‚Thank God’ nothing bad happened to her. Ugly things did happen, but nothing harrowing. And thank God I have forgotten the ugly things. No – I refuse to remember them.”

Ein kleines Stück...
Deutschland
%

Toggle Menu

ANNELIESE FELDMANN

Mit der Erinnerung an Deutschland hat sie es nicht so

Details fehlen ihr, wenn sie in ihrer Erinnerung kramen soll. Mit der Erinnerung an Deutschland hat sie es nicht so. Anneliese Feldmann lebt in der Gegenwart. Auch wenn diese lange nicht so aufregend ist wie das, was hinter ihr liegt.

© Tim Hoppe

Die heute 89jährige sitzt zusammen mit ihrer Freundin Hilde Neustadt im Aufenthaltsraum des Hogar Adolfo Hirsch und lauscht klassischer Musik, die aus einer kleinen Anlage tönt. So vertreiben sich die beiden oft die Zeit bis zum Mittagessen.

„Deutschland? Vergessen.“

Erinnerungen an Deutschland? „Die deutsche Sprache und Kultur ist mir geblieben“, aber erinnern? Das will sie nicht. „Deutschland? Vergessen.“, sagt sie mit einem Lächeln und erinnert sich doch noch an so einiges.

Dass sie in Berlin am 21. August 1916 geboren wurde und dass ihre Familie schon früh beschlossen hatte, dem Vater eine Einreise für Argentinien zu kaufen, „nachdem es in Deutschland unangenehm wurde,“ und dass er dann vorausgefahren ist. Dass sie und ihre zwei Geschwister nach einem Jahr nachkommen konnten. „Meine Mutter war da schon nicht mehr.“ Sie ist also 1936 ganz legal aus Deutschland ausgereist. Ob es Schwierigkeiten gab? Sie weiß es nicht mehr und will es auch nicht wissen. Sie erinnert sich allerdings daran, dass sie sich auf der Schiffsreise sehr gut amüsiert haben. Alles, was sie mitnehmen konnten, haben sie auch mitgenommen. „An Geld allerdings nur 10 Mark. Und damit haben wir dann angefangen.“

Sie ist ausschließlich mit deutschsprachigen Juden zusammen

In Argentinien hat sie sich gleich wohl und geborgen gefühlt, erzählt sie. Mit der ganzen Familie wohnt sie in einer großen Wohnung. Anneliese, ihre Schwester, ihr Schwager, der Vater und ihr Mann. Ob sie damals schon Kinder hatte? Auch das weiß sie nicht mehr so genau. Es ist so lange her. Genau genommen fast 70 Jahre. Wo sie ihren Mann kennen gelernt hat, weiß sie dafür umso genauer. In der jüdischen Gemeinde. Im Gemeindehaus verbringt sie viel Zeit, schließt Freundschaften. Sie ist ausschließlich mit deutschsprachigen Juden zusammen. Sie hören Vorträge, gehen ins Kino und unterhalten sich viel. „So haben wir unsere Tage verbracht.“ Und sie sprechen nur Deutsch miteinander.

Spanisch hat sie trotzdem gelernt, zunächst mit dem Buch „1000 Worte Spanisch“ und dann bei der Arbeit. „Ich habe selbstverständlich auch eine Stellung gehabt, naja, und da musste man Spanisch sprechen.“ Anneliese Feldmann arbeitet als Sekretärin. Sie ist 19 Jahre alt. In Argentinien sei man mit 19 schon erwachsen, sagt sie, aber „ich war so erzogen, dass ich noch nicht ganz ausgebacken war. Bueno, dadurch, dass man nicht so vivo war, nicht so aufgeweckt, ging alles etwas langsamer – aber nicht schlecht.“ Es muss gut gegangen sein, denn Anneliese Feldmann ist eine sehr zufriedene alte Dame.

„Die Hiesigen waren sehr nett. Sehr sehr nett.“

Zufrieden mit ihrem Leben ist sie auch, weil sie sich in Argentinien immer willkommen gefühlt hat. „Die Hiesigen waren sehr nett. Sehr sehr nett.“ Es sei natürlich nicht immer alles leicht gewesen, sagt sie, „aber solange man gelacht hat, war es ja gut.“ Argentinien ist heute ihre Heimat. Und Deutschland? Sie ist nie wieder dort gewesen. „Mit Deutschland habe ich gar nichts mehr zu tun. Wir sind ausgewandert, weil man uns Juden nicht wollte.“ Schlimmes sei ihr „Gottseidank“ nichts passiert. „Hässliches ja, aber Schlimmes habe ich nicht erlebt. Und das Hässliche habe ich Gottseidank vergessen. No, ich will mich nicht erinnern.“

Ein kleines Stück...
Deutschland
%